Thundercat Announces New Album, Releases First Single


Late last year, Thundercat announced his largest headlining tour to date for 2020. Now it looks like that will line up with the release of his newly announced album, It Is What It Is, which is slated to drop on April 3rd.

The followup to 2017’s groundbreaking Drunk will be a reflective album. “This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that,” the bassist explains. “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

The album will feature guest appearances by Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole and Zack Fox. Lacy and Arrington are featured on the album’s first single, “Black Qualls.” Thundercat dishes a Bootsy-esque bass line for the retro-sounding track.

Thundercat will be on the road starting February 28th in Vancouver, British Columbia. The final date on his trek is set for April 6th in Dallas, Texas.

It Is What It Is Track List:

  1. Lost in Space / Great Scott / 22-26
  2. Innerstellar Love
  3. I Love Louis Cole [ft. Louis Cole]
  4. Black Qualls [ft. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington and Childish Gambino]
  5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
  6. How Sway
  7. Funny Thing
  8. Overseas [ft. Zack Fox]
  9. Dragonball Durag
  10. How I Feel
  11. King of the Hill
  12. Unrequited Love
  13. Fair Chance [ft. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B]
  14. Existential Dread
  15. It Is What It Is

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts