Carla Bley, Andy Sheppard, and Steve Swallow Return with “Life Goes On”

Carla Bley: Life Goes OnCarla Bley has just released a new trio album on ECM called Life Goes On. The pianist once again worked with her longtime musical partners of saxophonist Andy Shepperd and bassist Steve Swallow, who is also her spouse. It marks the third volume of the group as a trio, starting with 2013’s Trios.

“We’ve learned to breathe together when we play,” Carla told the Charleston City Paper recently. “I hear our voices in my mind’s ear as I compose for us. I especially relish the conversational flow the trio format allows. We’re essentially a chamber music ensemble, and this allows me to write music for us free of bombast and exaggeration. Music stripped down to its basic elements. This format also demands that, as players, we improvise in the character of each particular song, which is both a challenge and, on a good night, a great satisfaction.“

The album is broken down into three suites of music: “Life Goes On,” “Beautiful Telephones,” and “Copycat.” Swallow’s highly melodic style is on display starting in on the first track, as he trades melodies with Sheppard. Check it out below:

Life Goes On is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Life Goes On Track List:

  1. Life Goes On: Life Goes On
  2. Life Goes On: On
  3. Life Goes On: And On
  4. Life Goes On: And Then One Day
  5. Beautiful Telephones (Pt. 1)
  6. Beautiful Telephones (Pt. 2)
  7. Beautiful Telephones (Pt. 3)
  8. Copycat: After You
  9. Copycat: Follow the Leader
  10. Copycat: Copycat

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts