Bambara Releases “Stray”

Bambara: StrayBambara has released their fourth album, Stray, which NPR calls a “mesmerizing… western, gothic opus.” The band consists of twin brothers Reid and Blaze Bateh along with bassist William Brookshire, whose gritty, menacing bass drives the songs.

Bambara took a new direction with the record by opting to try new song forms and textures. “Throughout the songwriting process, the band pulled from their deep well of creative references, drawing on the likes of Leonard Cohen, Ennio Morricone, Sade, classic French noir L’Ascenseur Pour L’Echafraud, as well as Southern Gothic stalwarts Flannery O’Connor and Harry Crews,” the album description explains.

From there, they called on violinist Adam Markiewicz, trumpeter Sean Smith, and backing vocalists Ani Ivry-Block and Drew Citron to fill out the arrangements.

Get a load of Brookshire’s frantic lines on the more upbeat “Heat Lightning”:

Stray is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Stray Track List:

  1. Miracle
  2. Heat Lightning
  3. Sing Me to the Street
  4. Serafina
  5. Death Croons
  6. Stay Cruel
  7. Ben & Lily
  8. Made for Me
  9. Sweat
  10. Machete

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts