Body Count Releases “Carnivore”

Body Count: CarnivoreBody Count has returned with a crushing new album called Carnivore, which is described as the band’s “most melodically hardcore and lyrically articulate” album to date. The group, fronted by rapper and actor Ice-T, explores the primal side of humans on the record.

“Humans are animals, pretty much in denial of just how savage we can be,” the singer says. “The songs on ‘Carnivore’ play out that theme in different ways. It’s not about a diet; it’s about being bloodthirsty creatures.”

Body Count bassist and musical director Vincent Price says it continues the band’s growth following 2014’s Manslaughter and 2017’s Bloodlust. “We’re satisfying ourselves first before we satisfy others,” Price says. “Back when we were rehearsing for a tour in support of Manslaughter, Ice said to me, ‘How are we gonna top this album?’ I’m like, ‘Well, Ice, don’t worry. We got it.’ I look at myself as ‘the fan’ too, and this is our best yet.”

Carnivore includes eight new songs and three covers including Motorhead’s iconic “Ace of Spades” and two tracks from Ice-T’s rap catalog: “Colors” and “6 ‘N The Mornin.'” The album is packed with guest artists like Will Putney, Jamey Jasta, Amy Lee, Dave Lombardo, Jello Biafra, and more.

Hear Price kick off the new rendition of “Colors,” which also features Slayer’s Lombardo on drums:

Carnivore is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Carnivore Track List:

  1. Carnivore
  2. Point the Finger – Body Count feat. Riley Gale
  3. Bum-Rush
  4. Ace of Spades
  5. Another Level – Body Count feat. Jamey Jasta
  6. Colors – 2020
  7. No Remorse
  8. When I’m Gone – Body Count feat. Amy Lee
  9. Thee Critical Beatdown
  10. The Hate Is Real

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts