The Boomtown Rats Return with “Citizens of Boomtown”

The Boomtown Rats: Citizens of BoomtownBob Geldof and The Boomtown Rats have released Citizens of Boomtown, which marks their first album in 36 years. The band, best known for their hit “I Don’t Like Mondays,” say the time was right for their recording return.

“Because that’s what bands do. They make records,” Geldof says. “Songwriters write songs. There’s so much to respond to in this new and different febrile atmosphere that we live in. People forget we took our name from Woody Guthrie, the great musical activist. I think The Boomtown Rats have always shown that rock’n’roll is a form of musical activism. The music has intent and purpose even if that is just the sound, about boy/girl, nothing particularly at all, everything in general, or pointed polemical… whatever.”

Bassist Pete Briquette, who dishes out some dirty tone on the album, also produced the record. You can hear his gritty playing on the opening track, “Trash Glam Baby”:

Citizens of Boomtown is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Citizens of Boomtown Track List:

  1. Trash Glam, Baby
  2. Sweet Thing
  3. Monster Monkeys
  4. She Said No
  5. Passing Through
  6. Here’s A Postcard
  7. K.I.S.S.
  8. Rock ‘n’ Roll Yé Yé
  9. Get A Grip
  10. The Boomtown Rats

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts