Rush’s “Permanent Waves” to get 40th-Anniversary Edition

Rush: Permanent Waves Super Deluxe Edition

Attention Rush fans: The band’s seventh studio album, Permanent Waves, will be getting a 40th-anniversary release in multiple packages. Originally released in January 1980, the six-song record was brought Geddy Lee, Neil Peart, and Alex Lifeson into a new decade and a new direction. It scored them two radio standards with “The Spirit Of Radio” and “Freewill” while exploring new textures throughout.

The 40th Anniversary edition of Permanent Waves comes in four configurations: Super Deluxe Edition, two-CD Deluxe Edition, three-LP Deluxe Edition, Deluxe Digital Edition. The extensive Super Deluxe Edition will include two CDs and three 180-gram black vinyl LPs with the Abbey Roads remastered edition of the album plus previously unreleased and newly restored bonus content. Bonus live tracks from the Permanent Waves World Tour 1980 are also included.

The bands adds that “The Super Deluxe Edition of Permanent Waves-40th Anniversary will also include several exclusive items, including a 40-page hardcover book with unreleased photos, reimagined artwork by original album designer Hugh Syme, and an extensive & exclusive 12,000-word essay; a replica of the Permanent Waves 1980 official tour program; The Words & Pictures Volume II, a replica of the band’s rare 1980 UK-only tour program; a 24×36-inch two-sided wall poster of the original album cover model photo shoot and photos of the band recording at Le Studio; three replica bandmember 1980 tour backstage laminates; three Neil Peart-handwritten lyric sheets for “The Spirit Of Radio,” “Entre Nous,” and “Natural Science”; and a 20-page 5×7-inch notepad emblazoned with Le Studio letterhead.”

See all of that in the set’s official unboxing video:

The Permanent Waves 40th Anniversary Edition is available for pre-order and will be released May 29th.

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts