Thundercat’s “It Is What It Is” Now Available

Thundercat: It Is What It IsBass phenom Thundercat has returned with his fourth studio album, entitled It Is What It Is. The release is a reflection on existence filled out by his unreal bass playing and sense of humor.

“This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that,” Thundercat says. “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life, you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

The artist called on an amazing roster of like-minded genre-benders to complete the music. Guest contributions come from Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole and Zack Fox.

Check out the music video for “Dragonball Durag”, directed by Fox:

It Is What It Is is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

It Is What It Is Track List:

  1. Lost in Space/Great Scott/22-26
  2. Interstellar Love
  3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
  4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
  5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
  6. How Sway
  7. Funny THing
  8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
  9. Dragonball Durag
  10. How I Feel
  11. King of the Hill
  12. Unrequited Love
  13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
  14. Existential Dread
  15. It Is What It Is (feat. Pedro Martins)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts