The Plate Scrapers Release “Destination Horizon”

The Plate Scrapers: Destination HorizonThe Plate Scrapers have released their third studio album, Destination Horizon, which is the first to document their evolving style. Based in the bluegrass tradition, the five-piece band incorporates folk, rock, and jam music into all 13 of their new original songs.

“It’s new classic stuff,” says guitarist/vocalist Andrew Jordan. “We have multiple feels and sounds, so it’s hard to pin it down [a genre]. It’s that new bluegrass stuff, that’s influenced by all the non-bluegrass stuff we know and love.”

The Plate Scrapers are anchored by bassist (and No Treble managing editor) Kevin Johnson, who utilizes his background in rock and jazz to create propelling and compelling bass lines. Tracks like “Clangly,” “Werewolf on Wheels,” and “Ancient Mysteries” also offer up spots for the bass to take the lead.

The album debuted at #9 on the Billboard Bluegrass charts.

As I said when I shared the band’s video of the song “Fly With Me”: “Kevin does so much for the bass playing community. Time to give him some well-deserved love.”

Destination Horizon is available now on CD and as a digital download through Bandcamp, iTunes and Amazon.

Destination Horizon Track List:

  1. Fly With Me
  2. Last Train
  3. Clangly
  4. Trucker’s Aspirin
  5. Mountain
  6. Love Song
  7. Country Heartache
  8. Repair Around the Corner
  9. Dead Man
  10. Fooled Again
  11. Werewolf on Wheels
  12. Ancient Mysteries
  13. Your Smiling Face

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts