Derek Frank Releases “Eleven Years Later”

Derek Frank: Eleven Years LaterL.A. touring and session ace Derek Frank has returned with his first solo album in over a decade. Eleven Years Later picks up from 2009’s Let The Games Begin… and continues to draw from from funk, soul, jazz, blues, Southern rock, and more. Frank, who is currently the bassist for Gwen Stefani and Shania Twain, took time during the pandemic to pick back up on his writing.

“Eleven Years Later is not a ‘Bass’ album per se, but rather an interactive and collaborative effort between Derek and several of his close friends and musical cohorts,” a press release states. “This team includes Joshua Ray Gooch on guitar (Shania Twain), Ty Bailie on keyboards (Katy Perry), Randy Cooke on drums (Ringo Starr, Colbie Caillat), along with a special guest appearance by guitar hero Joe Bonamassa and a handful of other notable musicians from Derek’s various circles.”

Hear about the album from Frank himself:

Check out the funkified 70’s chase scene inspired “Get ‘Em”:

Eleven Years Later is available now as a digital download via iTunes, Amazon MP3), and Bandcamp. A vinyl edition will be coming in October.

Eleven Years Later Track List:

  1. Get ‘Em!
  2. That’s What SHE Said
  3. One Man’s Trash
  4. Give It What You Can
  5. Irregardlessly
  6. Roasted
  7. George Likes the Bananas
  8. Interlude: Music is Hard
  9. Onward (feat. Joe Bonamassa)
  10. Hunker Down
  11. The Trooper
  12. All Day Sucker

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts