Brandi Disterheft Returns with “Surfboard”, Featuring George Coleman

Brandi Disterheft: SurfboardSurf’s up! Brandi Disterheft has just released a new album called Surfboard, which marks her fifth as a leader. The record features the bassist/vocalist performing originals and covers with her trio including pianist Klaus Mueller and drummer Portinho. They’re also joined by NEA jazz master George Coleman on saxophone.

“I wanted to record us,” Disterheft says of her trio. “Porto has a way of uplifting the beat. It’s so funky, with such an infectious groove, and he has so much dynamic range. He has strict rules, but once you learn them, he wants you to break away. He’s always anticipating, turning around the phrases. It’s so much fun.”

Songs on the album range from blues to pop to the Great Brazilian and American songbooks. That includes two pieces from jazz bass legends: Oscar Pettiford’s “The Pendulum at Falcon’s Lair” and Sam Jones’ “Del Sasser”. The album title comes from a more obscure Jobim tune.

“It sounds like you’re trying to balance life on a surfboard,” Disterheft says of the latter. “The audience lights up as soon as you play it.”

Surfboard is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Surfboard Track List:

  1. Surfboard
  2. Prelude to Coup de Foudre
  3. Coup de Foudre
  4. My Foolish Heart
  5. Naña
  6. Manhattan Moon
  7. The Pendulum at Falcon’s Lair
  8. On Broadway
  9. Speak Low
  10. One Dream
  11. Portrait of Porto
  12. Where or When
  13. Del Sasser
  14. Reveries

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts