Final Album by Tony Lewis Gets Posthumous Release

Tony Lewis: More Than I DaredTony Lewis of The Outfield tragically passed away last month at 62 years old. The bassist, who sang the smash hit “Your Love”, was busy working on a new album at the time and now his family has released it. More Than I Dared is a six-song EP he had written and named as a reference to his solo career being more successful than he dared.

“On behalf of my girls and myself, I’d like to thank everyone for the outpouring of love, affection, and sadness for the loss of our adored Tony,” shares Tony’s wife, Carol Lewis. “Following his debut venture as a solo artist, Tony had been in the studio this year working on new music. We had written a new body of work and have decided to release a full EP collection to share with and thank his fans for their continued support of his solo career. Tony’s life was full of music; he was never happier than being on stage connecting with a crowd or meeting fans and listening to their stories. He was truly grateful for his career that started in 1983. I know his distinctive voice and musical legacy will carry on through these new songs. Please remember him with love, laughter, and a sense of fun. He is, was, and always will be irreplaceable.”

In addition to the album, his family released the official video for the opening track, “Gonna Make You Love Me”:

More Than I Dared is available now as a digital download via iTunes and Amazon MP3. All the proceeds from the album’s initial release will be donated to MusiCares, which Lewis “was very fond of, as he always wanted to support his fellow musicians.” You can also donate directly to the foundation in his memory.

More Than I Dared Track List:

  1. Gonna Make You Love Me
  2. One By One
  3. My World
  4. I Feel Alive
  5. Then There Was You
  6. I’m Falling

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts