Damian Erskine Returns with “In This Moment”

Damian Erskine: In This MomentBassist, educator, and longtime No Treble columnist Damian Erskine has just released a new album called In This Moment. The gorgeous eleven-song collection is described as a departure from his previous albums and features a trio setting completed by pianist Greg Goebel and drummer Charlie Doggett.

“Recorded Dec 21, 2020, in Portland Ore, this album is very much a reflection of the preceding year,” Erskine explains. “The year was a challenging one but one that prompted much re-evaluation and re-assessment of priorities, social responsibilities what truly deserved my time, attention and energy. I’ve always loved playing with these guys and we relished the chance to play some beautiful music, without preconception. We just played and had fun and I think that it shows here.”

In This Moment features a combination of original pieces by the trio as well as reimagined jazz standards arranged for their unique approach. Erskine’s playing is, as always, top-notch throughout. From his cool palm-muting on “I’ll Remember April” to his lyrical phrasing on his composition “Invocation”, this is a fantastic snapshot of his amazing style.

In This Moment is available now via Bandcamp, iTunes, and Amazon MP3.

In This Moment Track List:

  1. Nardis
  2. Beatrice
  3. T-15
  4. Invocation
  5. Reharm for Debby
  6. I’ll Remember April
  7. When I Fall In Love
  8. The Scene Between Two Unseens
  9. Nov 20, 2020
  10. Con Alma
  11. The Meaning of the Blues

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts