Black Sabbath Releases “Vol. 4” Super Deluxe Edition

Black Sabbath: “Vol. 4” Super Deluxe Edition

In 1972, rock pioneers Black Sabbath released their fourth album inside of two years, aptly entitled Vol. 4. The record would help cement their growing popularity with iconic tracks like “Supernaut,” “Snowblind,” and “Changes.” The classic album is now the latest in their catalog to get a Super Deluxe Edition, which features a remastered version of the album as well as a bevy of unreleased material.

“The innovators of heavy metal revisit Vol 4 on a new collection that includes a newly remastered version of the original album along with a trove of 20 unreleased studio and live recordings and comes with extensive booklets featuring liner notes with quotes from the era from all four band members, rare photos, and a poster with previously unpublished early artwork of the album using the working title Snowblind,” the label Rhino explains.

After studio outtakes from the original album sessions, the collection concludes with a collection of live performances that recreate a typical set list from Sabbath’s Vol 4 tour. “The recordings were originally slated for a live album that was ultimately shelved. Although some of these performances have been previously available in various states, the release marks the first time that a full 1973 live Sabbath show has been recreated.”

The making of Vol. 4 was a turning point for the band as it was the first time they self-produced the album at the Record Plant in Los Angeles instead of working with producer Rodger Bain in England. It also proved to be a drug-fueled endeavor, as evidenced by the band’s original working title of Snowblind.

“Whether you can believe him or not, the record cost, I think, $65,000,” bassist Geezer Butler told Rolling Stone, “and the cocaine bill was $75,000.”

No matter how it happened, Butler and the crew created a handful of songs that have lasting power. Check out the remastered version of “Tomorrow’s Dream”:

The Vol. 4 Super Deluxe Edition is available now in a 4-CD box and a 5-LP box.

Vol. 4 Super Deluxe Edition Track List:

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

  1. Wheels Of Confusion / The Straightener
  2. Tomorrow’s Dream
  3. Changes
  4. FX
  5. Supernaut
  6. Snowblind
  7. Cornucopia
  8. Laguna Sunrise
  9. St. Vitus Dance
  10. Under The Sun / Every Day Comes And Goes

Disc Two: Outtakes – New Mixes

  1. Wheels Of Confusion / The Straightener
  2. Changes
  3. Supernaut
  4. Snowblind
  5. Laguna Sunrise
  6. Under The Sun (Instrumental)

Disc Three: Alternative Takes, False Starts & Studio Dialogue

  1. Wheels Of Confusion (False Start with Studio Dialogue)
  2. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 1)
  3. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 2)
  4. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 3)
  5. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 4)
  6. The Straightener (Outtake)
  7. Supernaut (Outtake)
  8. Supernaut (Alternative Takes with False Starts)
  9. Snowblind (Alternative Take 1 – Incomplete)
  10. Under The Sun (False Start with Studio Dialogue)
  11. Under The Sun (Alternative Take with Guide Vocal)

Disc Four: Live In The UK 1973

  1. Tomorrow’s Dream
  2. Sweet Leaf
  3. War Pigs
  4. Snowblind
  5. Killing Yourself To Live
  6. Cornucopia
  7. Wicked World (Includes Excerpts of:)
  8. Guitar Solo
  9. Orchid
  10. . Into The Void
  11. Sometimes I’m Happy
  12. Supernaut / Drum Solo
  13. Wicked World (Reprise)
  14. Embryo
  15. Children Of The Grave
  16. Paranoid

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts