Alice Cooper’s “Detroit Stories” Now Available

Alice Cooper: Detroit StoriesAlice Cooper pays homage to his former hometown of Detroit on his 21st solo album, Detroit Stories. The record throws it back with hard-edged rock featuring special guests like MC5 guitarist Wayne Kramer and Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels drummer Johnny “Bee” Badanjek.

“[F]or the way that the whole country is now coming out of this COVID thing, I think it’s really time to do a really fun rock ‘n’ roll album,” the singer told ABC Audio.

Cooper wrote the songs with producer Bob Ezrin with other contributors including original Alice Cooper bassist Dennis Dunaway. In fact, Dunaway appears on two tracks alongside all the surviving members of the original band including drummer Neal Smith and guitarist Michael Bruce.

“[T]hey sound like they could be on [our 1971 albums] Love It to Death or Killer,” the singer says. “The original band’s playing as well now as they’ve ever played.”

Hear the original gang on “Social Debris”:

Detroit jazz and R&B bassist Paul Randolph handles the majority of the bass work on Detroit Stories with Jimmie Lee Sloas performing on “Shut Up and Rock”. While the album leans heavily on rock, Randolph brings the spirit of classic R&B on the track “$1000 High Heel Shoes.”

Detroit Stories is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Detroit Stories Track List:

  1. Rock ’n’ Roll
  2. Go Man Go
  3. Our Love Will Change the World
  4. Social Debris
  5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
  6. Hail Mary
  7. Detroit City 2021
  8. Drunk and in Love
  9. Independence Dave
  10. I Hate You
  11. Wonderful World
  12. Sister Anne
  13. Hanging on by a Thread (Don’t Give up)
  14. Shut up and Rock
  15. East Side Story

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts