Tal Wilkenfeld Anchors Upcoming Prince Album, “Welcome 2 America”

Prince: Welcome 2 AmericaSince his passing, we’ve been getting little bits of unreleased music from Prince’s vault. Now a full never-before-heard album will be seeing the light of day on July 30th. Welcome 2 America was recorded in 2010 and is described as a statement album that documents his “concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice.”

The new release will be the only studio collaborations to feature drummer Chris Coleman and bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, who shared her joy at the news on Facebook.

“The Prince album I recorded on in 2010 is coming out in July! Relieved I don’t have to hide this secret anymore,” she wrote. “I think this is some of his greatest writing, and his earnest words couldn’t come at a better time. I only hope he sees us laughing in the Purple Rain. I sure miss him a helluva lot.”

You can hear Wilkenfeld laying down the groove for Prince’s spoken work observations on the title track:

Welcome 2 America is available for pre-order on CD and digital. It will also come in a deluxe double vinyl set.

Welcome 2 America Track List:

  1. Welcome 2 America
  2. Running Game (Son Of A Slave Master)
  3. Born 2 Die
  4. 1000 Light Years From Here
  5. Hot Summer
  6. Stand Up And B Strong
  7. Check The Record
  8. Same Page, Different Book
  9. When She Comes
  10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
  11. Yes
  12. One Day We Will All B Free

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts