Harvie S Releases Archive Recording Featuring Mike Stern, Alan Dawson

Harvie S Trio: Going For ItIn 1985, jazz bassist Harvie S was offered a gig at the thriving 1369 Club in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He called upon guitarist Mike Stern and drummer Alan Dawson to make a trio for the three-night run, which produced some amazing music. Luckily, the gigs were recorded and we can now hear the bassist’s band with the new album Going For It.

“So here are these thought-to-be lost performances back from the mists of time, capturing Harvie S, Mike Stern and Alan Dawson at the peak of their abilities,” a press release states. “Mike Stern was about to release his first album as a leader, ‘Upside Downside’, Alan Dawson was fresh from being the featured drummer on Muse Records’ popular ‘Live at Sandy’s’ series and Harvie S had already played with greats such as Zoot Sims, Thad Jones, Gil Evans, Lee Konitz, and Sheila Jordan, and continues to enjoy a long and extremely prolific career.”

The trio didn’t rehearse for the shows, instead calling tunes on the spot and improvising in the moment. Hear more about it directly from Harvie S and Mike Stern:

Going For It is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Going for It Track List:

  1. On Green Dolphin Street
  2. Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise
  3. Peace
  4. Like Someone In Love
  5. Moment’s Notice
  6. Windows
  7. Bruze

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts