Yola Releases “Stand For Myself”, Featuring Nick Movshon on Bass

Yola: Stand For MyselfSinger-songwriter Yola has returned with her second full-length album, entitled Stand For Myself. Produced by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys, the album is described as a “sonic shift” from her debut.

“It’s a collection of stories of allyship, black feminine strength through vulnerability, and loving connection from the sexual to the social. All celebrating a change in thinking and paradigm shift at their core,” Yola says of the album. “It is an album not blindly positive and it does not simply plead for everyone to come together. It instead explores ways that we need to stand for ourselves throughout our lives, what limits our connection as humans and declares that real change will come when we challenge our thinking and acknowledge our true complexity.”

The music is a beautiful blend of classic soul and R&B with some modern twists. Stand For Myself is anchored by bassist Nick Movshon, who helps propel the old school vibe with bass lines and tones harkening back to players like James Jamerson and Jerry Jemmott.

Check out the music video for “Diamond Studded Shoes”, featuring some driving by Movshon:

Stand For Myself is available now on CD, vinyl, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Stand For Myself Track List:

  1. Barely Alive
  2. Dancing Away In Tears
  3. Diamond Studded Shoes
  4. Be My Friend
  5. Great Divide
  6. Starlight
  7. If I Had To Do It All Again
  8. Now You’re Here
  9. Whatever You Want
  10. Break The Bough
  11. Like A Photograph
  12. Stand For Myself

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. John Bradford

    Liking this , got all the elements that are musical & good