Jon L. Smith Returns With “Yermo”

Jon L. Smith: YermoJon L. Smith has just released his third solo album called Yermo, which continues to expand on the bassist’s incredible blend of hip-hop and R&B textures with jazz vocabulary. As such, it’s a perfect snapshot of his home base of Philadelphia.

Smith fills out the songs with chords and melodies from his five-string while producers Simon Martinez and Corey Bernhard flesh out other instruments. He also called on some incredible guest artists including flautist Elena Pinderhughes, drummer George “Spanky” McCurdy, and bassist Hadrien Feraud. Legendary luthier and bassist Ken Smith, who is Jon’s father, also appears on Yermo on double bass.

Get a feel for the album with the opening track, “Whoa Bro Intro”:

Yermo is available now as a digital download through Bandcamp, iTunes, and Amazon MP3.

Yermo Track List:

  1. Whoa Bro Intro
  2. Rot
  3. Spors!
  4. Josi (feat. Hadrien Feraud)
  5. Jon’s Flying Guitar
  6. One Thousand Dollars
  7. Ken (feat. Ken Smith)
  8. We Gotta Wrap This Up
  9. La Familia Real
  10. Lil Grandma

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts