David Ellefson and The Lucid Release Debut Album

The Lucid: The LucidAfter teasing the project in September, David Ellefson’s latest band The Lucid has released their debut album. The 9-track record is the bassist’s first release since leaving Megadeth earlier this year.

The Lucid also features Sponge vocalist Vinnie Dombroski, Fear Factory drummer Mike Heller, and guitarist Drew Fortier. Together, they create a hard-hitting rock sound anchored by Ellefson’s signature bass tone.

The band was interviewed on the CMS Network and Ellefson was asked about creating new projects. “I’ve put bands together since I started playing bass at age 11,” he said. “Here I am all these years later doing the same thing. I think I only joined one band [in my career]. I’m not much of a joiner. I’m a putter-together kind of guy. I like the excitement of it, to be a foundational cornerstone of something like this. I did a lot during the pandemic. I did four records, two books, and a movie. It’s been a really creative season for me.”

Check out the band’s sound on “Damned”:

The Lucid is available now digitally via iTunes, Amazon MP3, and Bandcamp.

The Lucid Track List:

  1. Maggot Wind
  2. Deaths of Despair
  3. Spoiler Head
  4. Hair
  5. Maskronaut
  6. Damned
  7. Breech Boy
  8. Pigs and Sons
  9. Parade of Spit

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts