Dave Young Releases 16th Solo Album, “Mantra”

Dave Young: MantraJazz great Dave Young has released Mantra, his sixteenth album as a leader. The bassist – known for his work with artists including Oscar Peterson and Tommy Flanagan – featured his normal sextet plus three guests: Ewen Farncombe on organ, John Johnson on alto sax and flute, and Les Allt on flute.

Young and company tracked six original songs alongside four compositions by Thelonious Monk, Woody Shaw, and Horace Silver. Each song serves as a opportunity for the players to dig into the groove.

“I like compositions that are not overly complicated in terms of harmonic changes – it makes the guys think too much,” the bandleader explains. “I’m a firm believer that you shouldn’t be thinking too much when you’re improvising – you should just be going with the flow.”

Check out “Green St Caper”, on which Young takes part of the head and a bowed solo:

Mantra is available now digitally through iTunes, Amazon MP3, Bandcamp, and more.

Mantra Track List:

  1. Green St Caper
  2. The Gypsy
  3. Waltz For Blue
  4. Evidence
  5. Inside a Silent Tear
  6. Mantra
  7. Opus De Funk
  8. Ode to the Southwest
  9. We Three As One
  10. Myako’s Waltz

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts