Mastodon Releases “Hushed and Grim”

Mastodon: Hushed and GrimIn September of 2018, Nick John passed away from pancreatic cancer. Of the many hats he wore, one was being the manager for Mastodon. The metal mainstays recorded and released a cover of “Stairway to Heaven” in his memory with proceeds going to cancer research, but their profound loss has taken full shape in their newest full-length release, Hushed and Grim.

The record, which is their first double album, explores depths of sorrow while also pondering life’s bigger questions.

“’Hushed and Grim’ is kind of towards the end of our living days with Nick. It wasn’t great. It was horrible,” bassist and vocalist Troy Sanders told Heavy Consequence. “Losing someone to that disease is just so… How life can throw such horrific diseases at such beautiful people can fuel some frustration and anger that’s unbelievable. So, ‘Hushed and Grim’ stems from that vibe of being with Nick on his final days. He was the fifth member of the band, so it was like losing a band member and a best friend at the same time. ‘Hushed and Grim’ resembles the feeling and vibe of being with him at the end and how painful that was to witness and go through. In a nutshell, that’s what it is.”

The lyrical depth is matched by the band’s musical prowess, drawing you in with monster riffs and melodies. Sanders also puts the bass up front with a solo in the song “Teardrinker”, which you can catch at the 3:15 mark:

Hushed and Grim is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Hushed and Grim Track List:

  1. Pain with an Anchor
  2. The Crux
  3. Sickle and Peace
  4. More Than I Could Chew
  5. The Beast
  6. Skeleton of Splendor
  7. Teardrinker
  8. Pushing the Tides
  9. Peace and Tranquility
  10. Dagger
  11. Had It All
  12. Savage Lands
  13. Gobblers of Dregs
  14. Eyes of Serpents
  15. Gigantium

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts