Lorenzo Feliciati Releases “Early Years”

Lorenzo Feliciati: Early YearsItalian bass great Lorenzo Feliciati has just released a retrospective album called Early Years that compiles some of his best work from his album Upon My Head and Live at European Bass Day and More. While he was touring and in the studio with Italy’s top pop artists, he spent his downtime expressing himself with his own music, which is “solidly rooted in the jazz-rock [and] prog scene.”

“These first two albums show some important ideas that have taken a more defined shape in his later work,” a press release explains. “[The] track ‘Ground & Air’ is a good example of this style that was made of effects and later developed with Twinscapes and on the Antikythera and Koi albums. As a distinctive feature, Feliciati has always maintained the key role of the bass as the pivot and foundation for all arrangements and other instruments.”

The album also features Alessandro Gwis, Aidan Zammit, Agostino Marangolo, Lucrezio De Seta, Désirée Petrocchi and Davide Aru. If you’re not hip to Feliciati’s next level playing yet, Early Years is a great place to start.

Early Years is available now as a digital album through Bandcamp.

Early Years Track List:

  1. Dedicated
  2. Don’t Ask Me to Dance
  3. Free Bird
  4. Alice (A Lullaby)
  5. Smart as You
  6. The Dance
  7. Coffee Flavor
  8. Nine to Five
  9. Ground and Air

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts