John Entwistle’s “Rarities Oxhumed” Coming Soon

John Entwistle

The estate of bass icon John Entwistle has unveiled a new series of posthumous releases. Rarities Oxhumed includes unreleased and remastered studio tracks as well as demos and live recordings. This includes material for The Who and his solo work.

John Entwistle: Rarities Oxhumed - Volume OneRarities Oxhumed – Volume One will be out in October with live tracks like “Bogey Man” with Who bandmate Keith Moon, a Who demo called “Where You Going Now”, and a live version of “Trick of the Light” taken from the John Entwistle Band’s final tour in 2001.

The series was put together by Deko Entertainment and Entwistle’s longtime friend Steve Luongo.

“John and I began touring together in 1987,” Luongo states. “Every tour was more fun than the last. That was the idea. Play loud, aggressive rock & roll, have fun, laugh our asses off, travel to the next gig, and repeat. During the 15 years that we worked together as a rhythm section, we remained true to that cause. Along the way, we recorded some records and created a sizable catalog of ideas and material for the future. The future is now.”

The first song from the collection has been released with a remastered version of “I’ll Try Again Today”, which first appeared on Left For Live.

“The album cover concept was conceived by Steve Luongo and Chris Entwistle (John’s son),” a press release adds. “It gives a nod to John’s dark sense of humor and includes many of John’s favorite things. The two also worked with celebrity designer Queenie (Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus, Cardi B) to create two commemorative pieces of jewelry based on the Entwistle Crest. These are limited to only 300 each of both a necklace and keychain.”

Rarities Oxhumed – Volume One is available for pre-order and special limited bundles. The set includes a CD, a 12-page expanded booklet with exclusive photos, recording info, and unreleased photos.

Rarities Oxhumed – Volume One Tracklist:

  1. Bogey Man
  2. Darker Side Of Night
  3. I’ll Try Again Today
  4. When You See the Light
  5. Back on the Road
  6. Left for Dead (Alternate Version)
  7. I Wouldn’t Sleep With You
  8. Don’t Be a Sucker
  9. Life Goes on (Demo)
  10. Where Ya Going Now (Demo)
  11. Trick of the Light (Live)
  12. Under a Raging Moon (Live)
  13. Shakin’ All Over (Live)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts