Jukka Haavisto Releases Debut Album as a Leader, “Reflections”

Jukka Haavisto: ReflectionsAfter years in the studio and on the road, Finnish jazz bassist Jukka Haavisto has released his first album as a leader, entitled Reflections. The seven-song collection was composed and arranged entirely by Haavisto himself and has a tip of the hat to old-school fusion sounds.

Bass legend Leland Sklar says, “This sounds great! Really harkens back to all those great 70’s fusion albums.”

Haavisto is joined on the record by guitarist Johannes Granroth, drummer Severi Sorjonen, and keyboardist Vili Itäpelto. The record kicks off with a bang on “Four Days After,” which has the bassist playing rhythms with octaves while the keys take things to outer space. They open things up to breathe a bit during Haavisto’s fantastic fretless solo.

Reflections is available now through Bandcamp, iTunes, Amazon MP3, and more.

Reflections Track List:

  1. Four Days After
  2. Dancing in the Woods
  3. Three Reflections
  4. Noora
  5. Opus nr.8
  6. Opus nr.11
  7. Morning Dew

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Hi all!
    Here is link for live version.