Stuart Hamm’s “Hold Fast” Now Available For Download

Stuart Hamm: Hold FastStu Hamm has returned with a new solo album, Hold Fast, which is his most prog-leaning effort to date. The bass icon says that the music came in its own time.

“This collection of songs took a while to come together before I could record and release them,” he explains. “The melodies, harmonic and rhythmic ideas, and grooves seemed to be pulling me in a more aggressive direction.”

Hold Fast features his “A-team Road Band” With Alex Skolnick and Joel Taylor as well as Randy McStine, Gergo Borlai, Greg Ellis, Andrea Whitt, Steve Ferlazzo, and Michael Lee Firkins. One song, “Infinite,” even features fellow bassist Bubby Lewis tearing it up on the outro after Hamm completes the song with four-string, five-string, and piccolo basses.

Hold Fast is available digitally now through Hamm’s website, with CDs shipping on July 30th.

Hold Fast Track List:

  1. To Mainframe!
  2. Bad Year
  3. Tales of My Midwestern Youth
  4. Infinite
  5. Flotsam and Jetsam
  6. Hold Fast
  7. We Will Rock You
  8. When This Is Over

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts