Rhiannon Giddens Releases “You’re the One” with Jason Sypher

Rhiannon Giddens: You’re the OneSongstress Rhiannon Giddens has returned with a new album called You’re the One, marking her third solo album and the first of all originals. The singer and instrumentalist, who is known for her deep understanding of folk music, shares songs written throughout her career in an array of genres for a melting pot of music.

“I hope that people just hear American music,” Giddens states. “Blues, jazz, Cajun, country, gospel, and rock—it’s all there. I like to be where it meets organically. They’re fun songs, and I wanted them to have as much of a chance as they could to reach people who might dig them but don’t know anything about what I do. If they’re introduced to me through this record, they might go listen to other music I’ve made with a different set of ears.”

You’re the One features Giddens’ longtime bassist, Jason Sypher, who lays down the grooves on both electric and upright bass. Sypher sets the tone perfectly throughout the album, no matter the style.

Check out his playing on “You’re the One”:

You’re the One is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

You’re the One Track List:

  1. Too Little, Too Late, Too Bad
  2. You’re the One
  3. Yet to Be (feat. Jason Isbell)
  4. Wrong Kind of Right
  5. Another Wasted Life
  6. You Louisiana Man
  7. If You Don’t Know How Sweet It Is
  8. Hen in the Foxhouse
  9. Who Are You Dreaming Of
  10. You Put the Sugar in My Bowl
  11. Way Over Yonder
  12. Good Ol’ Cider

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts