Mohini Dey Releases Self-Titled Debut Solo Album

Mohini Dey: Mohini DeyAfter years of recording, performing, and sharing her talents on social media, Mohini Dey has released her debut solo album. The self-titled album blends all the musical aspects her fans have come to know her for, including rock, jazz, R&B, funk, Indian Carnatic rhythms, and konnakol vocals. Although there’s a wide range of genres, they’re put together for a cohesive sound.

“This album was made to be listened to from start to finish,” the bassist explains. “The order of the songs was intentionally designed to give listeners at home the sensation of attending my live show. I have played with some of the greatest musicians from many different genres so it was important to me to feature them on my album doing what they do best. This music is a representation of my life’s journey and I hope that all of you will enjoy this musical adventure that I’ve curated. I am really proud of this album and feel inspired to share more of my original music with the world.”

The spectacular guest list on her album is a who’s who of progressive music. Drummers include Narada Michael Walden, Simon Phillips, Marco Minnemann, Gergo Borlai, Gino Banks, and Nishant Hagjer. The guitar parts are handled by Guthrie Govan, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, Mike Gotthard, and Rhythm Shaw, while the keyboard parts were done by Scott Kinsey and Daniel Szebenyi. Finally, Dey’s husband and bandmate Mark Hartsuch plays saxophone and aux keyboards.

Check out this album teaser of Dey playing the killer slap part on “Meat Eater”:

Mohini Dey is available now on iTunes, Amazon MP3, and Bandcamp.

Mohini Dey Track List:

  1. In-N-Out
  2. Introverted Soul
  3. Bombay Bong
  4. Meat Eater
  5. Coloured Goddess
  6. First Food Then You
  7. Kick’B’ass
  8. Emotion
  9. Happy to Slap It

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts