Jake Leckie Releases “Planter of Seeds”

Jake Leckie: Planter of SeedsBassist/composer Jake Leckie has released his third album as a leader, entitled Planter of Seeds. The album sees the return of his ensemble The Guide Trio with guitarist Nadav Peled and drummer Beth Goodfellow, which also performed on his second album, The Guide. Leckie then augmented the instrumentation with pianist Cathlene Pineda, saxophonist Randal Fisher, and trombonist Darius Christian.

Planter of Seeds features eight original compositions that are described as “between the funky odd time signatures of the Dave Holland Quintet and the modern folk-jazz of the Brian Blade Fellowship Band with a respectful nod towards the late 1950s classic recordings of Ahmad Jamal and Miles Davis.”

Hear more about the album from Leckie himself:

Planter of Seeds is out now digitally via Apple Music, Amazon Music, and more.

Planter of Seeds Track List:

  1. Planter of Seeds
  2. Big Sur Jade
  3. Clear Skies
  4. The Aquatic Uncle
  5. Starboard
  6. Santa Teresa
  7. String Song
  8. The Daughters of the Moon

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts