Kittie Returns with “Fire” Featuring Ivy Jenkins

Kittie: Fire

After the tragic passing of bassist Trish Doan in 2017, Kittle drummer Mercedes Lander stated she was unsure of the band’s future. The resurgence of nu metal a few years later would bring them back together. They performed their first shows back together in 2022 with former bassist Ivana “Ivy” Jenkins (née Vujic) back in the fold.

All of that has led up to the release of Fire, their first album in 13 years, which brings the band up to date.

“There’s a lot of different stuff on this album. It’s quite varied,” told Rocksound. “There’s a lot of abrasive stuff, a lot of melody. The ultimate goal was to bring the Kitty sound to the modern era, and working with Nick [Raskulinecz, producer] was the right move. The production value really helps to elevate it.”

Check out Jenkins and crew in the video for “Eyes Wide Open”:

Fire is out now on CD, vinyl, and as a digital download (Apple Music and Amazon Music).

Fire Track List:

  1. Fire
  2. I Still Wear This Crown
  3. Falter
  4. Vultures
  5. We Are Shadows
  6. Wound
  7. One Foot in the Grave
  8. Are You Entertained?
  9. Grime
  10. Eyes Wide Open

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts