the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Savages Releases Second Album

Savages: Adore LifePost-punk band Savages, with Ayşe Hassan on bass, has released its sophomore effort, Adore Life.

Adore Life is a bit of a different animal from the band’s 2013 debut, Silence Yourself. “This record came out of us being on the road together and learning how to be with each other over the last three years and responding to the attention we’d received on the road from fans,” Hassan says in a great interview with Northern Transmissions. “Instead of being insular, to protect ourselves as a unit—which we needed to be for the first record—I feel like we’ve kind of opened up. We wanted to contrast what the lyrics were saying, musically. For example, you might have a poetic sentiment, but underneath you might have a really heavy, distorted bass sound which short of contrasts or contradicts what’s being said.”

The contrasts found on the album can be heard just by taking two early singles as examples: “The Answer” (first video) and “Adore” (second video):

Adore Life is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Adore Life Track List:

  1. The Answer
  2. Evil
  3. Sad Person
  4. Adore
  5. Slowing Down The World
  6. I Need Something New
  7. When In Love
  8. Surrender
  9. T.I.W.Y.G
  10. Mechanics

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts



This is the first punk music I’ve heard since the 80’s that actually sounds kinda like punk. I’ve never been impressed by neo-punk snot rock like Blink 182 and Green Day. Plus, this has that Arabic tinge to it. It reminded me a tiny bit of Secret Chiefs 3 for a second there.