Tower of Power: Great American Soulbook [new release]

Tower of Power, anchored by the legendary Rocco Prestia on bass released their newest album today. Great American Soulbook takes the band in a slightly new direction, with a collection of classic soul tunes with a Tower of Power twist.

The album was produced by Emilio Castillo, the band’s founder and leader since 1968, and George Duke and features guest appearances by Joss Stone, Sam Moore, Sir Tom Jones, and Huey Lewis.

Tracks include Stevie Wonder’s “You Met Your Match”, Sam & Dave’s “I Thank You” and ten others:

1. You Met Your Match
2. I Thank You – featuring Tom Jones
3. Loveland
4. It Takes Two – featuring Joss Stone
5. Me & Mrs. Jones
6. Star Time (Tribute to James Brown)
7. Mr. Pitiful – featuring Sam Moore
8. Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel
9. Since You’ve Been Gone (Baby, Baby, Sweet Baby)
10. (Heaven Must Have Sent) Your Precious Love – featuring Joss Stone
11. 634-5789 – featuring Huey Lewis
12. Who Is He (And What Is He To You)?

Here’s a sneak preview video of Emilio Castillo in the studio mixing the album:


Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts