Mimi Jones debut album: A New Day

Mimi Jones: A New DayMimi Jones, a talented bassist, vocalist and composer, will release her debut album A New Day with an eclectic mix of compositions that blend across musical genres. The album hits the streets on September 15th, 2009 and features Mimi Jones (voice, bass), Miki Hayama (piano, wurlitzer and keys), Marvin Sewell (guitar), Marcus Gilmore (drums), with special guests Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet) and Lucianna Padmore (drums).

One listen to A New Day and you can hear how much went into this project. For some background information, Mimi expresses her philosophy about A New Day and her music: “It’s important for me that this music is for everyone. I believe that I have a calling to heal and make people feel good so I want to pass on what comes to me musically. Hopefully this music will make our world a bit better.”

Mimi was born in New York city with parents from Barbados and St. Croix. She studied at the Manhattan School of Music Conservatory with bassist Lisle Atkinson and has continued her music education with numerous workshops. She has toured all over the world with Jazz Sabroson and acting as the “side-man” for Lionel Hampton, Roy Hargrove, Rachel Z, Sean Jones, Kenny Barron, and Jesse Davis to name a few.

A New Day kicks off with “Fast Lane,” which has the feel of forward motion without sounding rushed. This pushes you right into “Watch your step,” a cool blues with Mimi’s sultry voice guiding you “onto that train.” The contrast from “Spiral” to “Mighty Time” to “Suite Mary” highlight Mimi’s range of creativity and emotion in the work (the last song is a homage piece for Mary Lou Williams). I guarantee that you’ll sing along with island rhythm in “Silva,” where Mimi tells a great story about a boy finding happiness. “Sista” has an open groove while the piano floats over top with a gliding improvisational melody. A New Day closes with Mimi’s rendition of “We Shall Overcome,” a touching inspirational song sure to leave you feeling good. Throughout the album Mimi slips from style to style mixing it all together in a fearless genre-bending journey.

The complete track list includes:

1. Fast Lane
2. Watch Your Step
3. Spiral
4. Might Time
5. Suite Mary
6. Silva
7. Close Your Eyes
8. For Granted
9. All Things
10. Sista
11. Thank You
12. We Shall Overcome

You can get more news on Mimi and her music at her website.

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts