New Release: Klang’s Tea Music

Klang: Tea MusicChicago-based jazz group, Klang, has just released Tea Music on the Allos Documents label.

Originally formed as an improvised music series in 2006 that didn’t sustain, the band lived on. Klang was started by clarinetist James Falzone and features vibraphoist Jason Adasiewicz, bassist Jason Roebke and drummer Tim Daisy.

If you are not familiar with Roebke, he should be on your player watch list. From his bio: “The diversity of Jason Roebke’s musical associations make him one of the most sought after bassists in Chicago. His playing is intensely physical, audacious, and sparse. He leads the electro-acoustic ensemble tigersmilk (Rob Mazurek, Dylan van der Schyff), co-leads the modular music and dance unit Art Union Humanscape (Ayako Kato, Tim Barnes, Michiyo Yagi), and the brutal post-drone trio overova (Fred Lonberg-Holm, Jason Adasiewicz). Roebke is also a member of various jazz bands.”

A recent review from All About Jazz characterizes the rhythm section as “limber” and that they “drive the ensemble with quicksilver shifts in mood and tone. Brisk and economical, they underscore the delicate tonality of Falzone’s woody clarinet and Adasiewicz’s shimmering, metallic vibes with supple nuance and elastic timing.”

Preview Tea Music:

Tea Music track list:

1. G.F.O.P.
2. Fickle
3. Lament On Ash Wednesday
4. Oolong With Multiplicity
5. No Milk
6. Giants
7. #32 Busonius
8. Klang
9. Dwarfs
10. Last Love Song
11. China Black
12. Klang . . . Reprise

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts