the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

New Release: Michael Janisch’s “Purpose Built”

Michael Janisch: Purpose BuiltJazz bassist Michael Janisch has just released his new album, Purpose Built on Whirlwind Recordings. This is his first album as a bandleader and features Aaron Goldberg (piano), Jim Hart (vibraphone), Jason Palmer (trumpet), Paul Booth (Tenor Saxophone), Mike Moreno (guitar), Patrick Cornelius (alto saxophone), Phil Robson (guitar), Walter Smith III (tenor saxophone), and Johnathan Blake (drums).

Preview and download Purpose Built:

Purpose Built track list:

1. Precisely Now
2. Adelante
3. Love is a Many Splendored Thing
4. Shumshi
5. Milestones
6. Serenade of the Seas
7. Puki-n-Pappo
8. Sofa Stomp
9. Lost Creek
10. Blood Count
11. Beep
12. Moment’s Notice

Janisch, who is a US native currently living in the UK, is known as an innovative and productive bassist and composer who is influenced by the work and playing of Charles Mingus. Through his career he has performed with such artists as Shirley Horn, Quincy Jones, Gary Burton, Joe Lovano, and Mark Turner.

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts