Carole King and James Taylor Release Features Leland Sklar

Carole King and James Taylor: Live At The TroubadourCarole King and James Taylor have recently released a live CD/DVD combo album, Live At The Troubadour. The 2007 performance was part of a 50th anniversary celebration of the venue, but also marked 36 years since King and Taylor played at the Troubadour together.

“The Troubadour in 1971 wasn’t the beginning, but it was a big step into the light for both of us,” Taylor writes in the liner notes. “When we reunited for the Troubadour’s 50th Anniversary celebration in 2007, it felt like yesterday. It was, and still is, all about the music and the celebration of performing together.”

Part of the magic of the three night run was due to the reunion of not only the singer-songwriters, but the incredible band that backed them, called “The Section.” The group consisted of session ace bassist Leland Sklar, guitarist Danny Kortchmar, and drummer Russell Kunkel. Sklar has played on thousands of records and worked with almost every pop artist, ranging from Ricky Martin to Phil Collins to Reba McEntire.

Preview and download Live At The Troubadour:

Live At The Troubadour Track Listing:

1. Blossom
2. So Far Away
3. Machine Gun Kelly
4. Carolina In My Mind
5. It’s Too Late
6. Smackwater Jack
7. Something In The Way She Moves
8. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
9. Country Road
10. Fire And Rain
11. Sweet Baby James
12. I Feel The Earth Move
13. You’ve Got A Friend
14. Up On The Roof
15. You Can Close Your Eyes

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts