the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Esperanza Spalding’s New Album Announced: Chamber Music Society

Esperanza Spalding: Chamber Music SocietyBassist, vocalist and composer Esperanza Spalding is releasing her second album on the Heads Up label, Chamber Music Society, on August 17th. Chamber Music Society is Spalding’s follow up to the 2008 release, Esperanza, which sat atop Billboard’s Contemporary Jazz chart for over 70 weeks.

Backed by drummer Terri Lyne Carrington and pianist Leo Genovese, Spalding draws from her classical training from her younger years and creates a modern chamber music group that combines improvisation with elements of jazz, folk and world music.

“So much of my early musical experience was spent playing chamber music on the violin, and it’s a form of music that I’ve always loved,” says Spalding. “I was very inspired by a lot of classical music, and chamber music in particular. I’m intrigued by the concept of intimate works that can be played and experienced among friends in an intimate setting. So I decided to create my version of contemporary chamber music, and add one more voice to that rich history.”

The album also features percussionist Quintino Cinalli, violinist Entcho Todorov, violist Lois Martin, cellist David Eggar and Gretchen Parlato on voice. Milton Nascimento makes a guest appearance on one track.

“I’m confident that this music will touch people,” Spalding adds. “We all want to hear sincerity and originality in music, and anyone can recognize and appreciate when love and truth are transmitted through art. No matter what else has or hasn’t been achieved on this recording, those things are definitely a part of this music. Those are the things I really want to deliver.”

Chamber Music Society Track List:

1. Little Fly
2. Knowledge Of Good And Evil
3. Really Very Small
4. Chacarera
5. Wild Is The Wind
6. Apple Blossom
7. As A Sprout
8. What A Friend
9. Winter Sun
10. Inútil Paisagem
11. Short And Sweet

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts

Steve G

Steve G

I’m sure this will be worth the wait.