Herbie Hancock: The Imagine Project

Herbie Hancock: The Imagine ProjectHerbie Hancock’s latest album, The Imagine Project, is a project that in many ways mirrors Hancock’s 2005 mega-hit, Possibilities. The album blends pop and jazz together with the help of a large and all-star cast of musicians such as Dave Matthews, Pink, John Legend, Seal, Jeff Beck and many others.

Several bassists contributed to the project, including Marcus Miller (tracks 1, 6), Tal Wilkenfeld (9), Oteil Burbridge (4), Larry Klein (tracks 1, 5, 7, 10), Lucas Martins (3), Abdallah Ag Alhousseyni (7) and Danny Barnes (8). Wilkenfeld is currently on tour with Hancock in support of the album.

The Imagine Project Track List and Line-up:

  1. “Imagine” Featuring P!NK, Seal, India.Arie, Jeff Beck, Konono N°1, & Oumou Sangare
  2. “Don’t Give Up” Featuring P!NK & John Legend
  3. “Tempo de Amor” Featuring Cèu
  4. “Space Captain” Featuring Susan Tedeschi & Derek Trucks
  5. “The Times, They Are A’ Changin’” Featuring The Chieftains, Toumani Diabete, & Lisa Hannigan
  6. “La Tierra” Featuring Juanes
  7. “Tamatant Tilay / Exodus” Featuring Tinariwen, K’NAAN, & Los Lobos
  8. “Tomorrow Never Knows” Featuring Dave Matthews
  9. “A Change Is Gonna Come” Featuring James Morrison
  10. “The Song Goes On” Featuring K.S. Chithra, Chaka Khan, Anoushka Shankar, & Wayne Shorter

Preview and download The Imagine Project

The Imagine Project is available in CD, vinyl and MP3 download formats.

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts