Boris Kozlov Releases “Double Standard”

Boris Kozlov: Double StandardJazz bassist Boris Kozlov has released a new solo bass CD, Double Standard, featuring a mix of originals and jazz standards. The entire album is made of single-take, solo bass tracks with the exception of “RGB/Self Portrait in 3 Colors,” which has the bassist layering arco tracks on the Charles Mingus ballad. That track is especially poignant since the entire album was recorded using Mingus’s 1927 Roth bass.

Originally from Russia, Kozlov is currently the bassist, arranger, and musical director for the Mingus Dynasty projects, which work to keep Mingus’s legacy alive. Since moving to the U.S. in 1991, he has also been a first call bassist in the New York scene for players like John Blake, Lew Tabackin, Alex Sipiagin, and Jean-Michel Pilc.

Double Standard Track List:

  1. Kowloon Bass Check
  2. Solar
  3. Isfahan
  4. Inner Urge
  5. RGB-Self Portrait in 3 Colors
  6. Overjoyed
  7. Gloria’s Step
  8. Peace
  9. Satellite
  10. Anatole

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts