Donny McCaslin Releases Perpetual Motion, Featuring Tim LeFebvre

Donny McCaslin: Perpetual MotionJazz saxophonist Donny McCaslin has released his ninth solo album, Perpetual Motion, featuring the electric bass talents of Tim LeFebvre. The 10-track album is full of odd meter grooves and rich harmonies, creating a very hip and modern vibe. LeFebvre’s bass really shines on “Firefly,” a tune that begins with an eerie bass solo that builds into the sax’s theme, eventually inviting the whole band in for some deep jamming. He also makes good use of his effects library on the intro to “Energy Generation.”

Joining McCaslin and LeFebvre on the album are Adam Benjamin and Uri Caine on the Fender Rhodes, David Binney on alto sax, and Antonio Sanchez and Mark Giuliana sharing drum duties.

Preview and download Perpetual Motion:

Perpetual Motion Track List:

  1. Five Hands Down
  2. Perpetual Motion
  3. Claire
  4. Firefly
  5. Energy Generation
  6. Memphis Redux
  7. L.Z.C.M.
  8. Easy Bay Grit
  9. Impossible Machine
  10. For Someone

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts