Marcus Miller Featured on Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band’s “That’s How We Roll”

Gordon Goodwin's Big Phat Band: That's How We RollGordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band has released their fifth album, That’s How We Roll, on Telarc International. The collection has the 18-piece band showcasing 9 new original tracks from band leader Goodwin, as well as his arrangement of the classic Gershwin tune, “Rhapsody in Blue.”

Bassist Rick Shaw holds down the low end throughout the album with the exception of “Never Enough,” which sees Marcus Miller supporting the band featuring the vocal group, Take 6.

“I think there’s no a cappella group around right now that’s as good as Take 6,” Goodwin states. “As for MArcus, that guy’s groove is just as solid as it gets. His part on that track has a lot of complexity to it, but he didn’t hesitate about it for an instant. When you get a bass player like him on a track, it really elevates things.”

Preview and download That’s How We Roll:

That’s How We Roll Track Listing:

  1. That’s How We Roll
  2. Howdiz Songo?
  3. Rippin’ n Runnin’
  4. Hunting Wabbits 3 (Get Off My Lawn)
  5. Everlasting
  6. Gaining on You
  7. Never Enough
  8. It’s Not Polite To Point
  9. Race To The Bridge
  10. Rhapsody In Blue

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts