Steve Lawson Releases “11 Reasons Why 3 Is Greater Than Everything”

Steve Lawson: 11 Reasons Why 3 Is Greater Than EverythingBassist Steve Lawson has released his first solo studio album in 6 years, entitled 11 Reasons Why 3 Is Greater Than Everything. Recorded between October 2010 and April 2011, “11 Reasons” is full of ambient as well as melodic music that the bassist describes as a “film in 11 discreet acts.” Lawson once again puts his looping expertise to good use on the 11-track collection, which sees him reverting to his older style of composition.

“It hadn’t really struck me until listening back to “11 Reasons”.. that I’ve shifted away from ABAB form on this record,” Lawson noted on his blog. “Unlike on Behind Every Word (the title track and Scott Peck in particular), none of the tunes have a verse and a chorus. They all evolve and morph the way all my music did before I got the Looperlative. What has changed to make possible this kind of ‘step forward into an old method’ is the degree of subtlety and complexity with which I can manipulate multiple unsynced loops of different lengths.”

The new album is available on via Bandcamp on a “pay-what-you-think-it’s-worth” basis. Preview and download 11 Reasons Why 3 Is Greater Than Everything:

11 Reasons Why 3 Is Greater Than Everything Track List:

  1. A Year Afloat
  2. Travelling North
  3. Small Marvels
  4. This Merican Life
  5. Take Your Time, Choose Your Route, Pick Your Tunes
  6. I Will Fix It Tonight By Dining On Artichokes
  7. I Could Get Used To This
  8. Moon Landing On What
  9. The Time It Takes
  10. Minor Miracles
  11. Nothing Can Prepare

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Clifton

    Very Meditative! I have a couple of his CD’s, I’ll look into getting this one!