Warner Bros. Releases Tutu, Deluxe Edition

Miles Davis: Tutu - Deluxe EditionWarner Bros. is re-issuing the 1986 Miles Davis hit album, Tutu, in a new deluxe edition. The album, which features considerable work by bassist/multi-instrumentalist Marcus Miller. This was Davis’ first release with Warner Bros., after he shocked the music world by ending a 30 year relationship with Columbia.

The backstory behind this album is interesting. The album was originally titled Perfect Way, after the Scritti Politti tune of the same name, and later renamed by producer Tommy LiPuma. Perhaps the most interesting tale involves Warner’s goal of pairing Prince, the label’s superstar, with Davis to collaborate on a new album. That goal never materialized, of course, which opened the door for Miller to contribute to the album as a composer, arranger, performer and co-producer. Miller composed and arranged each of the tracks, with the exception of “Tomaas” (co-written by Davis) and Backyard Ritual” (George Duke), and “Perfect Way” (Scritti Politti).

Tutu is considered by many to be the album that re-ignited Davis’ career, as it achieved crossover success in the pop and rock markets, and earned Davis two Grammy Awards.

The new deluxe edition includes the remastered album, the complete live performance by the Miles Davis Octet at Nice’s Jazz Festival in 1986, new liner notes (including an interview with Marcus Miller), packaged in a double Digipak.

Last year, Miller embarked on his own “Tutu Revisited” tour, dedicated to the late trumpeter. An album of the same name is now out (available in the U.S. as an import).

Tutu – Deluxe Edition Disc: 1 Track List

  1. Tutu
  2. Tomaas
  3. Portia
  4. Splatsh
  5. Backyard Ritual
  6. Perfect Way
  7. Don’t Lose Your Mind
  8. Full Nelson

Tutu – Deluxe Edition Disc: 2 Track List:

  1. Opening Medley
  2. New Blues
  3. Maze
  4. Human Nature
  5. Portia
  6. Splatch
  7. Time After Time
  8. Carnival

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts