the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Petros Klampanis Releases Contextual

Bassist/composer/arranger Petros Klampanis has released his debut album, Contextual, on Inner Circle Music.

The ten track collection includes a mix of original compositions and covers, including a rousing rendition of the Beatles’ “Blackbird,” featuring the vocals by Gretchen Parlato. Klampanis also tackles electric bassist Gary Willis’ “The Necessary Blonde” with a string quartet arrangement.

Among the bassist’s original tunes is “Mingum,” a tribute to the late great Charles Mingus, who Klampanis counts as a great influence. Klampanis also plays solo bass with overdubs to create a “double bass orchestra” on “Basscope” and “Blue Cave,” which are done so masterfully that you’d think it was a full symphony.

Preview and download Contextual:

Contextual Track List:

  1. Thalassaki
  2. Skylark
  3. The Necessary Blonde
  4. Basscope
  5. Countdown
  6. Lilly’s Promenade
  7. Mingum
  8. Blue Cave
  9. Blackbird
  10. Basscape