Weather Report’s 1983 Live in Cologne Released on DVD and CD

Weather Report: Live in Cologne 1983Continuing in their celebration of the 40th anniversary of the 1971 founding of Weather Report, the estate of Joe Zawinul is releasing their second of three new releases this year. Weather Report: Live in Cologne 1983 is now out in the U.S. on DVD and double CD.

Live in Cologne features the group’s final line up, including Victor Bailey on bass, Wayne Shorter on saxophones, Omar Hakim on drums, Jose Rossy on percussion, and Zawinul on keys and vocoder.

Live in Cologne follows this year’s earlier release of the band’s 1975 Live in Berlin album, featuring Weather Report’s first bassist, Miroslav Vitous.

The final release of 2011 will feature the line up of Jaco Pastorius and drummer Peter Erskine, with their 1978 performance in Offenbach. The video portion of this concert was previously available in the group’s Forecast Tomorrow box set, but never released in audio form.

Weather Report: Live in Cologne 1983 Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Procession
  2. Fast City
  3. The Peasant
  4. D Flat Waltz
  5. Blue Sound Note Three
  6. Duet Jose Rossy & Omar Hakim
  7. Two Lines
  8. Plaza Real

Disc 2:

  1. Medley: 8:30 / Black Market / Elegant People / Badia-Boogie Woogie Waltz / A Remark You Made / Birdland
  2. The Duet
  3. Where the Moon Goes

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts