the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Tom Kennedy: Just for the Record

Tom Kennedy: Just for the RecordEvery once in a while, we miss an important release by a notable bassist. With Tom Kennedy’s latest release, we did just that.

Released in October 2011, Kennedy’s Just For The Record is his third album as a leader and features a wide spectrum of music, from bop and Latin, to fusion and funk.

Kennedy, who has performed with Tania Maria, Bill Connors, Dave Weckl and Mike Stern, enlists some of his favorite collaborators for the project. Joining him are Stern on guitar, Weckl on drums, Charles Blenzig, Jay Oliver and Bob Albanese on keys, Sarina Suno on violin and Nathan Childers on sax.

Kennedy covers it all on Just For The Record with his trademark versatility, able to switch from acoustic to electric bass (including both fretted and fretless), throughout the album.

Just For The Record Sample: “Breakneck”

Just For The Record Track List:

  1. Breakneck
  2. Just for the Record
  3. Pumpkinette
  4. Joyful Noise
  5. Quase
  6. Since Then
  7. Love’s Disguise
  8. Mountain Flight
  9. Alone Together