the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Metallica’s “Beyond Magnetic” EP Released on CD

Metallica: Beyond Magnetic EPMetallica is following up to their digital-only release of the band’s new EP, Beyond Magnetic with the CD edition.

The four-track EP includes songs recording during the band’s Death Magnetic sessions, but didn’t make the record.

The band issued a statement with the digital release, saying “During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years. Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on ‘Mission Metallica’ (remember ‘Mission Metallica’?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, What ever happened to those other four songs???.

“We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ’08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you.”

Preview and download Beyond Magnetic:

Beyond Magnetic Track List:

  1. Hate Train
  2. Just A Bullet Away
  3. Hell And Back
  4. Rebel Of Babylon