Rocket Juice and the Moon Release Debut Album

Rocket Juice and the MoonRocket Juice and the Moon, the super group comprised of Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, Gorillaz/Blur guitarist/vocalist Damon Albarn and Fela Kuti drummer Tony Allen have released their debut album, Rocket Juice and the Moon.

The new album features 18 tracks by the group, and includes guest appearances by Erykah Badu, Hypnotic Brass and others.

As we reported in February, the band’s origin dates back to 2008, when the Albarn first teamed up with Flea and Kuti. But each of the member’s respective schedules made recording the album a challenge until 2011.

“The Rocket Juice album was made with no preconceived plan,” Flea said, in an interview with “The playing never felt like a means to an end. We totally improvised over a few meetings, left it wild so it feels cosmic and loose. I love to just jam; my life mission is to play music in the moment.”

The group’s debut performance came at the Cork Jazz Festival (the band released several videos from that appearance.)

With the Chili Peppers on tour – which is scheduled to last into 2013 – Rocket Juice and the Moon haven’t yet made any tour announcements.

Preview and download Rocket Juice and the Moon:

Amazon MP3

Rocket Juice and the Moon Track List:

  1. 1-2-3-4-5-6
  2. Hey, Shooter
  3. Lolo
  4. Night Watch
  5. Forward Sweep
  6. Follow-Fashion
  7. Chop Up
  8. Poison
  9. Extinguished
  10. Rotary Connection
  11. Check Out
  12. There
  13. Worries
  14. Benko
  15. The Unfadable
  16. Dam(n)
  17. Fatherless
  18. Leave-Taking

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts