The Mothership Returns: Return To Forever Releasing 3-Disc Set Next Month

Return to Forever: The Mothership ReturnsJazz/rock supergroup Return to Forever is releasing a 3-disc set of music culled from over 200 performances from last year’s world tour. The group, originally formed in the early ’70s had reunions in 1983 and 2008, before a new line-up joined together in 2010. That line-up – including existing RTF members Chick Corea, Stanley Clarke and Lenny White – joined forces with electric violinist Jean Luc-Ponty and acoustic and electric Frank Gambale to form the group known as Return to Forever IV.

The Mothership Returns offers two audio CDs with over 100 minutes of live music from the tour and a bonus DVD with nearly two hours of footage. The DVD includes an “Inside the Music” feature, offering band members discussing the tunes performed on the CD, as well as live performances of “After The Cosmic Rain” and “The Romantic Warrior”.

The Mothership Returns will be released June 19th, and is available for pre-order.

Here’s the band performing Clarke’s tune “School Days” live in Vienne, France during the tour:

The Mothership Returns Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Medieval Overture
  2. Señor Mouse
  3. The Shadow Of Lo / Sorceress
  4. Renaissance

Disc 2:

  1. After The Cosmic Rain
  2. The Romantic Warrior
  3. Spain
  4. School Days
  5. Beyond The Seventh Galaxy


  1. Inside The Music (film)
  2. After The Cosmic Rain (Live Austin, Texas)
  3. The Romantic Warrior (Live Montreux, Switzerland)
  4. The Return To Forever Story Trailer

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. sounds great cant wait!