Spectrum Road Release Self-Titled Debut

Spectrum RoadThe long-awaited debut album from Spectrum Road is now available from Palmetto Records. Born out of the Tony Williams Lifetime Tribute band, the foursome consists of bassist Jack Bruce, guitarist Vernon Reid, keyboardist John Medeski, and drummer Cindy Blackman. Even the band name is taken from a Tony Williams song, but Bruce says Spectrum Road has its own identity.

Speaking with International Business Times, the bassist pointed out that new gadgets help form a new sound. “Technologically you can be much more creative,” he explained. “I think we are taking our music another step. That’s not to take anything away from Tony Williams Lifetime, as we are emulating, but it’s a starting point.”

The band is currently on tour in support of the new album. Don’t expect their live show to mimic the recording though.

“That’s the great thing about Spectrum Road—we could play anything and everything,” Bruce added. “Usually we’ll have a little talk before we go on to play and decide on some direction to go, but anything can happen. Quite often you have no idea. We just hit it, we improvise, and that’s a great thing.”

Spectrum Road is available on audio CD, digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3) and vinyl.

Preview and download Spectrum Road:

Spectrum Road Track List:

  1. Vuelta Abajo
  2. There Comes a Time
  3. Coming Back Home
  4. Where
  5. An t-Eilan Muileach
  6. Vashkar
  7. One Word
  8. Blues for Tillmon
  9. Allah Be Praised
  10. Wild Life

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts