the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

No Doubt Returns With “Push and Shove”

No Doubt: Push and ShoveAfter a lengthy hiatus, No Doubt has released Push and Shove, their first studio album since 2001. While still heavily influenced by Jamaican music, the band took a turn towards the synth-pop bands of the ’70s and ’80s. The writing process also proved to be a new direction, especially for bassist Tony Kanal, who took a page out of Peter Hook’s playing.

“When we wrote this record, I spent most of my energy writing the songs with Gwen and [guitarist] Tom [Dumont],” Kanal told Spin. “I didn’t really worry about building the song production-wise. Because of that I didn’t really focus on my bass lines until really late in the process, which was completely different than every other record we’ve ever made. Some times we’d already put down a synth bass line by the time I was ready to do my part. And that meant the songs didn’t really call for a traditional bass line. So we said, ‘[Screw] it, let’s just go Peter Hook style.’ I’d play melodic bass lines up high on the neck of the bass guitar. A New Order song like ‘Perfect Kiss’ is a great example of what the kind of sound I was getting on our album.”

Push and Shove is available in CD, vinyl and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Preview and download Push and Shove:

Push and Shove Track List:

  1. Settle Down
  2. Looking Hot
  3. One More Summer
  4. Push And Shove
  5. Easy
  6. Gravity
  7. Undercover
  8. Undone
  9. Sparkle
  10. Heaven
  11. Dreaming The Same Dream

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts